Richard E. Anderson, MD, FACP Bio

Richard E. Anderson, MD, FACP, is chairman and chief executive officer of The Doctors Company, the nation’s largest physician-owned medical malpractice insurer. He is also a director of The Doctors Company Foundation. Dr. Anderson was a clinical professor of medicine at the University of California, San Diego, and is past chairman of the Department of Medicine at Scripps Memorial Hospital, where he served as senior oncologist for 18 years.

Dr. Anderson is the editor of a book, Medical Malpractice: A Physician’s Sourcebook, and the author of a number of peer-reviewed publications on medical malpractice, the Harvard Medical Practice Study, and the impact of defensive medicine.

He has been invited to address numerous medical and legal forums, including the American Medical Association, the American College of Surgeons, the American College of Physicians, the American Academy of Neurological Surgeons, the College of American Pathologists, the American Society of Plastic Surgeons®, a number of medical school faculties, including the medical centers of Stanford, UCLA, UCSD, Case Western, and the Cleveland Clinic, and the law schools of Columbia, Stanford, and Northwestern.

Industry presentations include the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), the Physician Insurers Association of America (PIAA), the Professional Liability Underwriters Society (PLUS), Lloyd’s of London, Crittenden, the American Association of Health Plans, and the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC).

Dr. Anderson currently serves on the Board of Advisors of the RAND Institute for Civil Justice, as vice-chair for the Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association Education & Research Foundation, and as a faculty member for the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI).

Dr. Anderson received the MPL Association’s 2020 Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland for his singular contributions and longtime dedication to healthcare professionals, the MPL insurance community, and the MPL Association.

He is also the first recipient of the PLUS Foundation’s Award for Outstanding Leadership in Healthcare Professional Liability.